1191 E. Newport Center Drive
Suite PH-E
Deerfield Beach, FL 33442

Phone: (954) 428-3888
Fax: (954) 428-5470

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STUDENT HELP

Students from around the world write to foodscience.com to ask technical questions which we do not have the capability of answering. However, many of the professors in Food Science academic programs have offered to answer these questions. One professor has even offered assistance in evaluating high school level science projects! If you are in junior high, high school, or college, please feel free to e-mail any of the professors below to ask your questions about food science or their food science program. They would love to hear from you.

Also listed are a few sites where students can access research materials, and can communicate with other food science students, both undergraduate and graduate level.

General Information

University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Department of Food Science and Technology
Megan Patent-Nygren
Recruitment Coordinator
Mpatentnygren2@unl.edu

Cornell University
Department of Food Science
Janette Robbins
Student Services
Jmr65@cornell.edu

Bakery/Grain Science/Grain Science

Khalil Khan, Ph.D.
Professor
North Dakota State University
khalil.khan@ndsu.edu

Dr. Lloyd W. Rooney, Professor
Texas A&M University
lrooney@tamu.edu

Byung Kee Baik, Professor
Washington State University
bbaik@wsu.edu

Carbohydrate Chemistry

Svetlana Zivanovic
Associate Professor
Carbohydrate Chemistry
Food Biopolymers Research Group
The University of Tennessee
lanaz@utk.edu

Dairy Science

John C. Bruhn, Ph.D.
Dairy Foods Processing Specialist Emeritus
University of California
johncbruhn@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Kayanush J. Aryana
Louisiana State University
karyana@agccenter.lsu.edu

Dr. Stephanie Clark
Dairy Chemistry and Microbiology 
Washington State University 
stephclark@wsu.edu 

Engineering/Food Processing

Brian E. Farkas, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Department Head
Department of Food Science
North Carolina State University
befarkas@ncsu.edu

Kumar Mallikarjunan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Biological Systems Engineering Department
Virginia Tech 
kumar@vt.edu

Dr. Valerie Davidson
University of Guelph (School of Engineering)
vdavidso@uoguelph.ca

Dr. V.M. (Bala) Balasubramaniam
Ohio State University
Balasubramaniam.1@osu.edu

Dr. Barry Swanson
Emerging Processing Technologies (PEF, UHP, OMF, etc.), Lipid Chemistry
Washington State University
swansonb@wsu.edu 

Enology

Dr. Charles Edwards
Enology and Wine Chemistry and Microbiology, Fermentations  
Washington State University
edwardsc@wsu.edu 

Dr. James Harbertson
Enology, Wine Chemistry, Polyphenolics
Washington State University
jfharbertson@wsu.edu 

Evaluation of Science Fair Projects,  Food Laws, Food Shelf Life

Dr. Ted Labuza
Morse Alumni Distinguished Professor of Food Science and Engineering
University of Minnesota
tplabuza@umn.edu

Fruits and Vegetables

Dr. Joseph Powers
Protein and Enzyme Chemistry, Fruit and Vegetable Composition, Antioxidants
Washington State University
powersjr@wsu.edu 

 

General Food Science/Food Chemistry

Dr. Charlie Sims
University of Florida
casims@ifas.ufl.edu

Dr. Lloyd Walker
Alabama A&M University
Lloyd.walker@email.aamu.edu

Professor David S. Reid
University of California, Davis
foodsci@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Allen Foegeding
North Carolina State University
allen_foegeding@ncsu.edu

Dr. Monica Giusti
Ohio State University
Giusti.6@osu.edu

Lipid Chemistry, Lipid Oxidation and Antioxidants

Dr. Edwin Frankel, Professor
University of California
enfrankel@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Alan McCurdy
Lipid Chemistry
Washington State University
mccurdy@wsu.edu 

Meat Science

Dr. Benjy Mikel
Mississippi State University
wmikel@fsnhp.msstate.edu

Meat/Poultry Microbiology/Food Safety

Dr. Catherine Nettles
Pennsylvania State University
Cnc3@psu.edu

Food Microbiology/Safety/Protection

Lynne McLandsborough Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts
Department of Food Science
lm@foodsci.umass.edu

Ann Draughon, Ph.D., Roddy Distinguished Professor 
Co-Director - Food Safety Center of Excellence
The University of Tennessee
draughon@utk.edu

Dr. Stephanie Doores
Pennsylvania State University
Sxd11@psu.edu

Dr. Richard Dougherty
HACCP, Sanitation, Economic Development, Entrepreneurs, Facilities and Safety Audits
Washington State University
dougherty@wsu.edu

Dr. Dong-Hyun Kang
Food Microbiology, Rapid Methods, Food Safety
Washington State University
dhkang@wsu,edu 

Dr. Karen Killinger-Mann
Consumer Food Safety, Food Ingredient Functionality, Animal Products Microbiology
Washington State University
karen_killinger@wsu.edu 

Nutrition and Toxicology

Stanley T. Omaye, Professor
Nutritionist and Toxicologist
University of Nevada, Reno
Omaye@unr.edu

Seafood

Dr. Barbara Rasco
Seafood and Animal Products Chemistry, Process Engineering, Near InfraRed Analyses
Washington State University
rasco@wsu.edu 

Sensory

Dr. Carolyn Ross
Sensory Chemistry and Science, Wine Quality
Washington State University
cfross@wsu.edu 

 

HELPFUL WEBSITES

Institute of Food Science Student Association      

International Food Information Service               
The International Food Information Service (IFIS) is a not-for-profit organization established in 1968 to serve the international food science, food technology and human nutrition community, by:

  • providing information products and services
  • commissioning research in information science
  • providing education in information science

Food Science and Technology Abstracts                      
FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts® database is an extensive collection of abstracts prepared from the world's food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition literature.

Specialist scientists extract the food-relevant information from the original literature to form concise, comprehensive summaries. This provides a quick and easy way for busy food professionals to keep up to date with new developments and research.

Journal of Food Science